Planning Commission


Currently the Planning Commission is prohibited from meeting in person due to the risks of COVID-19. The public can listen to meetings by streaming audio online or by telephone. Guidance on how to listen by telephone is listed at the top of each published agenda. Currently an open public comment period is not available. Public comment can be sent by email to the Department of Community Development at, and will be distributed to the Planning Commission.


  • 6:00 pm
  • First and Third Tuesday of each month, as needed

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

View Agendas (PDF)

Minutes are available following approval.

View Minutes (PDF)


There are currently no vacancies on the Planning Commission. 

  • Jeff Carter, Chair (County)
    Term expires December 31, 2020
  • Olaf Protze, Vice Chair (City)                                                               Term expires December 31, 2020
  • Julianne Coonts  (County)                                                                       Term expires December 31, 2021
  • Kathy Downer (City)                                                                                Term expires December 31, 2023                                                          

  • Elizabeth A. Hall (City)                                                                             Term expires December 31, 2022
  • Karen Mahalick (County)                                                                     Term expires December 31, 2022
  • Roger Wiseman (City)
    Term expires December 31, 2020

Membership Qualifications

Members must reside within the Clallam County boundaries of the Sequim School District. At least four members at one time must be City residents. Currently there are four City residents and three County residents.

About the Commission

The Planning Commission is a seven-member citizen panel responsible for advising the City Council on matters related to long-range community planning, such as the adopted Sequim Comprehensive Plan. The commission and its duties are outlined in ordinance (PDF).