City Council

Sequim's elected representatives

The City Council is the city's legislative body, and Councilors are the elected representatives of people living in Sequim. Sequim operates with a Council-Manager form of government. The Council's principal job is making policy. Councilors appoint a City Manager who is the chief executive officer and head of the administrative branch implementing policy.

Sequim's voters elect seven, non-partisan Councilors to four-year terms on a citywide basis. Council elections are held in odd-numbered years. For more information on elections or how to register to vote visit Clallam County Elections.

Click the following link for more information on your City Council and their role and Sequim's government structure.

The latest  City Council Rules of  Procedure  were adopted on December 14, 2020 by Resolution 2020-27.

Virtual Public meetings

Councilors primarily accomplish their work during open public meetings held regularly the second and fourth Monday of each month starting at 6 p.m. Councilors often hold work sessions prior to regular meetings at 5 p.m., and infrequently hold other special meetings. Currently the City Council cannot meet in person due to the risks of COVID-19.

Attending Meetings

Agendas for all Council meetings are posted online no less than 24 hours in advance, and you can sign up to receive notification of agenda posting. Published agendas contain guidance on how to listen to meetings online or by telephone, and how to participate in open public comment and public hearings.

Live Audio and Visual Streaming of Council Meetings

Written public comment can be sent to the City Clerk's Office at clerk@sequimwa.gov and will be distributed to the Council prior to the meeting. Visit the latest published agendas to see how to participate in the meetings at the top of the latest published agenda.

View archived agendas, audio recordings and minutes

2023 city council meeting schedule

January 9
January 23
February 13
February 27
March 13
March 27
April 10
April 24
May 8
May 22
June 12
June 26
July 10
July 24
August 14
August 28 (Canceled by City Council on January 9, 2023)
September 11
September 25
October 9
October 23
November 13
November 27
December 11
December 25 (Canceled by City Council on January 9, 2023) 

Please check the Calendar of Events at the bottom of the front page of the website for meeting information. Cancelations and the link to the City Council Agendas are also provided when you click on the City Council Meeting on the calendar.

Your City Council

Citizens are encouraged to communicate with their elected representatives. During each regular City Council meeting, the Council provides an open public comment period, but you can also send an email or call your Councilors.

Council Position 1William Armacostwarmacost@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 2Kathy Downerkdowner@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 3Vicki Lowevlowe@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 4Rachel Andersonranderson@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 5Brandon Janisse, Deputy Mayorbjanisse@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 6Lowell Rathbunlrathbun@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 7Tom Ferrell, Mayortferrell@sequimwa.gov
City ClerkAmy Aschenbrennerclerk@sequimwa.gov


City Council Goals

City Council Goals 2021 - 2022 (PDF)

City Council Meeting Rules of Procedure