City Council

Sequim's elected representatives

The City Council is the city's legislative body, and Councilors are the elected representatives of people living in Sequim. Sequim operates with a Council-Manager form of government. The Council's principal job is making policy. Councilors appoint a City Manager who is the chief executive officer and head of the administrative branch implementing policy. The Council elects a Mayor from among its membership, and the Mayor's primary duty is presiding over Council meetings.

Sequim's voters elect Councilors to four-year terms on a citywide basis and not from districts. The seven positions are non-partisan. City Council elections are held in odd-numbered years. Councilors serve staggered terms so that about half of the Council positions are on the ballot every two years. For more information on elections or how to register to vote visit Clallam County Elections.

Click the following links for more information on your City Council and their role and Sequim's government structure.

Virtual Public meetings

The City Council primarily accomplish their work during open public meetings held regularly the second and fourth Monday of each month starting at 6 p.m. Councilors often hold work sessions prior to regular meetings at 5 p.m., and infrequently hold other special meetings. Currently the City Council cannot meet in person due to the risks of COVID-19.

Attending Meetings

Agendas for all Council meetings are posted on the home page no less than 24 hours in advance, and you can sign up to receive notification of agenda posting. Published agendas contain guidance on how to listen to meetings online or by telephone, and how to participate in open public comment and public hearings.

Listen to Sequim City Council Meetings Online

View archived agendas, audio recordings and minutes

Your City Council

Citizens are encouraged to communicate with their elected representatives. During each regular City Council meeting, the Council provides an open public comment period. Participants can call in to the meeting and speak during the designated time. Written correspondence can be emailed to the City Clerk or to Councilors directly.

Council Position 1William Armacost, Mayorwarmacost@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 2Sarah Kincaidskincaid@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 3Mike Pencempence@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 4Dennis Smithdsmith@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 5Brandon Janissebjanisse@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 6Vacant
Council Position 7Tom Ferrell, Deputy Mayortferrell@sequimwa.gov
City ClerkSara McMillonsmcmillon@sequimwa.gov
City ManagerCharlie Bushcbush@sequimwa.gov


City Council Goals

2018 - 2019 City Council Goals (JPG)

City Council Meeting Rules of Procedure